Knowledge Base  /  Disaster Recovery  /  SafeHaven 3
Knowledge Base  /  Disaster Recovery  /  SafeHaven 3

SafeHaven 3.1: Checkpoints

Updated by Jake Malmad on Apr 08, 2016
Article Code: kb/493

Article Overview

This article walks you through the process of enabling, modifying, viewing, and taking checkpoints within your SafeHaven protection groups. Checkpoints are used by SafeHaven as the restorable points for a server and determine your recovery point objective.

Enabling Checkpoints

  1. Open your SafeHaven Console and login to the CMS.

  2. Select Edit Checkpoint Period.
    Edit Checkpoints

  3. Under Checkpoint Period, ensure that Checkpoints Enabled is check marked and that a proper period time is specified. This is the frequency of checkpoints taken by SafeHaven.
    Checkpoints Enabled

Editing Checkpoints

Similar to the above process, proceed to the Edit Checkpoints Period. From there you can modify the Checkpoint Period previously specified.

Taking a Manual Checkpoint

There may be times when you wish to take a manual Checkpoint, either for test failover scenarios, or after some large changes have been synchronized.

  1. Right-click on the protection group you wish to take a Checkpoint of and select Create Checkpoint.
    Create Checkpoints

  2. Confirm that you want to create a checkpoint.
    Confirm Checkpoints

  3. Wait for the task to complete. You can monitor the status in the jobs list at the bottom of the console.
    InProgress Checkpoints

    Completed Checkpoints

Viewing Checkpoints

To view both automatic and manual checkpoints, take follow the next steps.

  1. Open the SafeHaven Console and login to the CMS.

  2. Select Show History under the Checkpoints group.
    Show History Checkpoints

  3. The available Checkpoints displays with related data for the Checkpoints. Please note that checkpoints taken for Full Replica Linux VMs always show in an "Unknown" state rather than "Clean" checkpoints, despite being valid and bootable.
    Listed Checkpoints